RESOLUTION 1998-26

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF LEAVENWORTH COUNTY, KANSAS, PURSUANT TO K.S.A. 8-2002, K.S.A. 8-1560 AND K.S.A. 19-101 ESTABLISHING MAXIMUM SPEED LIMITS ON NON-HARD SURFACE ROADS UNDER THE JURISDICTION AND CONTROL OF LEAVENWORTH COUNTY, KANSAS; REPEALING ALL PRIOR RESOLUTIONS REGARDING MAXIMUM SPEED LIMITS ON NON-HARD SURFACE COUNTY ROADS.

WHEREAS, The Board of County Commissioners of Leavenworth County, Kansas, desires to provide a safe and uniform maximum speed limits on non-hard surface roads under the control and jurisdiction of the Board of County Commissioners, and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners is granted the statutory authority to enact such maximum speed limits.

NOW BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED:

- 1. That the maximum speed limit on all non-hard surface roads (rock, gravel or dirt) shall be 35 miles per hour unless otherwise posted.
- 2. That the Department of Public Works shall cause to be placed upon those roadways under the control and jurisdiction of the Board of County Commissioners speed limit signs showing the maximum allowable speed per hour. Placement of said signs shall be per a traffic engineering study in accordance with the Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices (M.U.T.C.D.).
- 3. That this resolution shall be published one time in the official County newspaper and this resolution shall have full force and effect upon its publication.

WHEREFORE, IT IS RESOLVED THIS 11th DAY OF JUNE, 1998.

Board of County Commissioners Of Leavenworth County, Kansas

Donald Navinsky, Chairman

Robert L. Adams, Member

Wayne Eldridge, Member

Stonda O Scheen County Clark